List of Naruto Filler Episodes and Arcs to Skip – Complete Guide

There are about sixteen and eleven Naruto filler episodes and arcs, respectively, to skip in all. However, while these episodes and arcs might not be entertaining to a greater majority of people, some other people might still find episodes 101, 136, and 220 interesting to watch, and there are good reasons for that.

Naruto is one of the most popular, beloved, and long-running anime series of all time. It follows the journey of Naruto Uzumaki, a young ninja with dreams of becoming the Hokage, the strongest ninja in his village. However, just like many other anime series, Naruto has its fair share of filler episodes that deviate from the main plot. The Masashi Kishimoto animation studio created filler episodes for Naruto to maintain a buffer between the anime and the latest manga content.

So this explains the existence of numerous filler episodes throughout the series. Therefore we have provided a comprehensive guide that covers the percentage of Naruto that consists of fillers, provided a detailed list of filler episodes grouped by arcs, as well as discusses which fillers are worth watching, and offers tips on how to watch the Naruto anime series without fillers.

Naruto Filler Percentage

Naruto consists of two main parts: the original Naruto series and Naruto Shippuden, which continues the story after a significant time skip. The original Naruto series has a filler percentage of approximately 41%, while Naruto Shippuden has a higher filler percentage of around 43%.

Although fillers can be fun and offer additional character development when they are taken into consideration on a broader scale, however, they often divert from the main storyline in episodes and this makes some viewers skip them to focus solely on the canon narrative and stick mainly to the storyline and main characters of the anime.

What Episodes are Fillers in Naruto Shippuden?

Naruto Shippuden, being the continuation of the original Naruto series, contains a considerable number of filler episodes. These episodes typically fall into various arcs, with each arc spanning multiple episodes. Let’s take a look at the different filler arcs:

  1. Three-Tails’ Appearance Arc (Episodes 89-112)
  2. Twelve Guardian Ninja Arc (Episodes 141-153)
  3. Six-Tails Unleashed Arc (Episodes 144-151)
  4. Itachi Pursuit Mission Arc (Episodes 113-126)
  5. Past Arc: The Locus of Konoha (Episodes 176-196)
  6. Paradise Life on a Boat Arc (Episodes 223-242)
  7. Adventures at Sea Arc (Episodes 243-275)
  8. Chikara Arc (Episodes 290-295)
  9. Power Arc (Episodes 290-295)
  10. Fourth Great Ninja War: Climax (Episodes 349-361)
  11. Kaguya Ōtsutsuki Strikes Arc (Episodes 391-393)

List of All Naruto Filler Episodes to Skip

A few Naruto filler arcs might have their moments, however, many viewers prefer to skip them to focus on the main storyline. So here’s a comprehensive list of all the Naruto Shippuden filler episodes you can skip:

  1. Episode 57: Robbed of Sleep
  2. Episode 97: The Labyrinth of Distorted Reflection
  3. Episode 101: Everyone’s Feelings
  4. Episode 136: The Light & Dark of the Mangekyō Sharingan
  5. Episode 220: Prophecy of the Great Lord Elder
  6. Episode 223: The Young Man and the Ocean
  7. Episode 243: Land Ahoy! Is this the Paradise Island?
  8. Episode 257: Meeting
  9. Episode 258: Rivals
  10. Episode 271: Road to Sakura
  11. Episode 279: White Zetsu’s Trap
  12. Episode 280: Aesthetics of an Artist
  13. Episode 281: The Allied Mom Force!!
  14. Episode 284: The Helmet Splitter: Jinin Akebino!
  15. Episode 285: User of the Scorch Style: Pakura of the Sand!
  16. Episode 303: Ghosts from the Past

Naruto Filler Characters

Throughout the filler episodes, viewers will come across various new characters that don’t appear in the manga’s canon story. While these characters can be entertaining, they often lack the depth and significance of the main cast. Some notable filler characters include Gantetsu, Mizura, Naho, Amaru, and Shizuka.

Naruto Filler Episodes Worth Watching

If you’re a die-hard Naruto fan and don’t mind deviating from the main storyline for some additional content, there are a few filler episodes worth watching for good reasons. These episodes offer unique character introductions and developments, backstories, and sometimes even a dash of humor in the various episodes they come in:

  1. Episode 101: Everyone’s Feelings – A heartwarming episode that explores the emotions of various characters.
  2. Episode 136: The Light & Dark of the Mangekyō Sharingan – Provides insights into Itachi and Sasuke’s past.
  3. Episode 220: Prophecy of the Great Lord Elder – Reveals some intriguing prophecies.

How to Watch Naruto Without Filler

If you’re interested in experiencing the core plot without the filler content, there are several methods you can use to skip the non-canon episodes:

  1. Use Filler Episode Lists: Online resources like this one offer lists of filler episodes for various anime, including Naruto. These lists can guide you in skipping filler arcs while watching the canon storyline.
  2. Naruto Filler Arc Guides: Some fans have created comprehensive guides that separate filler arcs from the main plot, allowing you to watch just the canon story.
  3. Watching Online Platforms: Streaming platforms sometimes categorize episodes as filler or canon, making it easier to navigate the series without fillers.
  4. Manga Reading: For purists who want to experience the original and complete Naruto story, reading manga is a great option. The manga is the source material for the anime and contains only the canon content without any filler.
  5. Fan Edits: Some fans create custom fan edits that meticulously remove filler content, leaving viewers with a streamlined version of the series. These edits can be found on various online platforms and offer a filler-free Naruto experience

How Many Episodes are in Naruto?

Asides from the fillers, the original Naruto anime series consists of a total of 220 episodes, while Naruto Shippuden has a total of 500 episodes. Combined, both series of Naruto offers viewers a total of 720 Naruto Naruto Shippuden episodes.

How Many Seasons of Naruto Are There?

The original Naruto series comprises 5 seasons, while Naruto Shippuden has 21 seasons. Additionally, there is a third series titled “Boruto: Naruto Next Generations,” which continues the story and adds more depth to the Naruto universe in general.

Despite the diverse variants of the anime mentioned above, the series still follows the story of the main character Naruto, a young ninja from the Hidden Leaf village, who lives up to his name by embarking on a remarkable journey of his destiny. Regardless of facing rejection and disdain from the villagers due to a mysterious power inside him, Naruto dreams of becoming a skilled ninja and, eventually, the Hokage, the village’s leader.

Naruto is undoubtedly a fantastic anime that has captured the heart of many fans as it is filled with action, adventure, and heartwarming moments. Ultimately, whether you choose to watch the fillers or stick to the canon episodes, Naruto’s journey to becoming the Hokage remains a timeless tale that continues to captivate fans worldwide. And as already mentioned, some fans might still find the fillers entertaining to watch, so it all depends on individual perspective.


Featured Today

Fact Check: We strive for accuracy and fairness, if you've found a possible error, be it factual, editorial or something that needs updating, please contact us

Read This Next